Books and Bites Author Series

Books & Bites

19 April 2019 12:00 -1:30 PM

Enjoy lunch with bestselling local authors as they discuss their writing process,
answer questions, and offer a glimpse into their personal stories.

April 19, Noon - 1:30 pm

Robert W. Saunders, Sr. Public Library

Purchase Tickets


Or make check payable to: The Friends of the Library, P.O. Box 172608, Tampa, FL 33672

For more information, email foltampa@gmail.com or call (813) 273-3616.
April benefit for the Tampa-Hillsborough County Public Library.
Lunch catered by The Portico.

About Author Gale Massey

Gale Massey’s stories and essays have appeared in the Tampa Bay Times, Walking the Edge, Sabal, Seven Hills Press, Connotation Press and other journals. She has been the recipient of scholarships and fellowships at The Sewanee Writers Conference, Eckerd College’s Writers in Paradise writing conference and has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. Upon its debut, The Girl From Blind River, was a featured selection for the legendary Book of the Month Club. Set in rural New York, the novel is a coming of age story that revolves around family dysfunction, illegal gambling and small-town corruption. Massey lives in St. Petersburg and is a Florida native. She is currently writing a second novel set in central Florida.

About the Book

A gritty tale of how far we’ll go to protect the ones we love for fans of Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone and Emma Cline’s The Girls from Gale Massey, a talented new name in crime fiction.

Everyone says the Elders family are nothing but cheats, thieves, and convicts—a fact nineteen-year old Jamie Elders has been trying desperately to escape. She may have the natural talent
…more

Directions

This organization is exempt from Federal income tax under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code since March 1967. EIN Number 59-6174497. A COPY OF THE OFFICIAL REGISTRATION WITH THE STATE OF FLORIDA (SC#-01052) AND FINANCIAL INFORMATION MAY BE OBTAINED FROM THE DIVISION OF CONSUMER SERVICES BY CALLING TOLL-FREE WITHIN THE STATE, 1-800-435-7352. REGISTRATION DOES NOT IMPLY ENDORSEMENT, APPROVAL, OR RECOMMENDATION BY THE STATE. FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY IS REGISTERED WITH THE FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE & CONSUMER SERVICES, DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS, AS A CHARITABLE, FUND-RAISING ORGANIZATION. FILE NO. CS-01052. The Friends of the Library of Tampa-Hillsborough, Inc. has not retained any professional solicitor, and 100% of each contribution is received directly by the Friends of the Library.